View

Country:

United States

State / Province:
North Carolina
City:
Duke University, Durham

Mary Rutledge

My Mother c. 1946.
The daughter of immigrant coal miners from what was then Czechoslovakia, Mom was the first woman to graduate from Duke University Divinity School. She pushed the dean to create a “Women’s Program”. Back then there just weren’t any women ministers.
She also married a minister!

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
13 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

It is a picture of a mother that every child should be proud of. Very beautiful and very memorable. It feels so good to see old photos of your parents. You are so lucky Julie.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Julie Harris
1 year ago

You’re welcome, Julie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Brigitta Hegyi
Brigitta Hegyi(@brigitta-hegyi)
1 year ago

Her smile says everything. You must be proud of her. Lovely picture!

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
1 year ago

Julie, this brought a tear to my eye. My grandmother was also a minister with my grandfather. How cool is that?

She was beautiful. Thanks for sharing ? 

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
Reply to  Julie Harris
1 year ago

Julie, I was just about to say we have a lot in common! It was my dad’s parents and he actually lived on top of the church. That was his home.

Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

How wonderful that she was the first woman to graduate there. She made history! I love how you have linked the two pictures.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

Your avatar photo is small on my screen but I think I can see a strong resemblance to your mother? A lovely story of a strong but gentle woman 🙂

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Your mother sounds like an incredible lady. You must have been so proud of her achievements.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

What a lovely glow your Mother has Julie. She also appears to be looking slightly upwards – perhaps to Heaven ?!

Recent Comments

13
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!